Morton’s Fork

If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

I will be honest and choose to write my own blog.

Why? That’s why I’m here. I want to write. It’s my personal therapy.

Writing helps me express myself. It eases whatever extreme emotion I have, better than crying, better if both. It improves my way and speed of thinking, which is very helpful at work. It drives my creativity and lets me see things out of the box. I can create my own world the way I want it. It’s freedom. I like what I do and I’m enjoying it. I never get bored.

This part is an addition to my first answer. Five minutes after I published it, I realized something. This prompt brings us back to our roots. Why do you write? Is it to please yourself or to please your readers? No one started great. No one started with hundreds and thousands of readers. Before they came, we’re our own audience. No one started as an instant writer. We had our unique influences, something we read. Random thoughts.


Answering this question got me thinking about these lyrics that I wrote back in college. It had been my productive output with my dilemma. I wrote these very quickly with all the band instruments playing in my imagination. I just let my emotions flow in my veins onto my paper. I am still hoping that I can record with the instruments and all (once I learned how to play guitar).

Me or her (acoustic-like Taylor Swift-ish)
Give me love (like Boys Like Girls’ Five Minutes to Midnight).

In response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Morton’s Fork
Leave a Reply

