The Envelope

I was on my way to work the morning after new year when an old lady handed me an envelope for donations. For those taking a bus, this has become common. There are different approaches: some youth are selling local delicacies to support their studies; some are asking for donation for a sick relative; and some are asking for donation for charity.

The old lady was dressed in a smart attire, she doesn’t look like she’s begging for something. I watched her as she distributed the envelopes. Some people did not even bother to look at the envelope. A couple from another religion called her attention and returned the envelopes telling her that they aren’t Christians. She smiled at them. As she reached the end of the aisle, she stood and smiled. She greeted everyone and began preaching God’s word to welcome the new year. She closed her speech smiling and maintaining eye-contact with everyone, saying that we can help our fellow men whatever gender, religion, or career one has. I’m not sure if people paid attention to her, but I did.

While she was talking, I already did get a few bills from my wallet. I only have exact money for my fare in my bag’s pocket that’s why I had to get more money. A few seconds after, the bus fare collector came for my payment. I was surprised I got an extra bill from my pocket. I was so sure I only had exact amount, but there I found the exact amount I just slipped inside the envelope.

I had goosebumps. At that moment what I thought was God had given back what I have given. But I didn’t expected anything in return. And why was it returned that fast?! Is it because it was the second day of the year and I happened to be in His early list to be blessed? But it was really impossible that I had an extra money. I stopped myself from over-thinking. I just smiled and felt happy that I was able to help, and got a special gift for it.

Instead of thinking that people asking for donations are scammers, and more people will continue to beg for money if we keep on giving, why not be positive? Share a generous amount and may God bless them.

Instead of thinking that people asking for donations are scammers, and more people will continue to beg for money if we keep on giving, why not be positive? Share a generous amount and may God bless them.

Leave a Reply

