Z is for Fr. Z’s Internet Prayer

I’ve seen articles about internet being the root of all evil. Human being human, blaming. It’s us who brought Internet and made it a necessity in life. More than that, it’s how we use it that makes it evil. Internet may make evil a click away, but who is it that clicks?

This week I’ve been in teaching etiquette about instant messaging at work which the number one reminder is to think before you hit enter. I say now, think before you click.

Think before you click

As a child I was taught to pray as I wake up and before sleeping, before and after meal, at the start and end of class, every 3pm, every 6pm, every day and every week. How often do you pray? Sad truth, but I am far from half than I used to. Is it because I no longer study in a Catholic and Christian school as I was from elementary to college? Is it because I rarely go home my hometown? Or is it just me?

 I am guilty that I use the internet now more often than I pray, thus now I say to myself: Make prayer an internet habit.

Image

I’ve come across Fr. Z’s Blog and saw a prayer that he wrote for St. Isidore of Seville, the Patron Saint of the Internet. I didn’t know there’s a saint for the Internet, neither do I know that such a prayer exists.

Sharing to you these Prayers in English and Three Filipino Dialect Translations (Tagalog, Capampangan and Cebuano):

English:

A prayer before logging onto the internet:

Almighty and eternal God, who created us in Thine image and bade us to seek after all that is good, true and beautiful, especially in the divine person of Thine Only-begotten Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, grant, we beseech Thee, that, through the intercession of Saint Isidore, Bishop and Doctor, during our journeys through the internet we will direct our hands and eyes only to that which is pleasing to Thee and treat with charity and patience all those souls whom we encounter. Through Christ our Lord.   Amen.

Tagalog (Filipino)

Isang panalangin bago pumasok sa internet:

Diyos na makapangyarihan at walang hanggan, na lumikha sa amin ayon sa Iyong imahen at nagtagubiling hanapin ang lahat ng mabuti, totoo, at maganda, lalo na sa banal na persona ng Bugtong Mong Anak, ang aming Panginoong Hesukristo, nagsusumamo kami na Iyong tulungan, sa pamamagitan ni San Isidro, Obispo at Doktor, sa aming mga paglalakbay sa internet na akayin lamang ang aming mga kamay at mata sa nakalulugod sa Iyo at pakitunguhan nang may habag at tiyaga ang lahat ng kaluluwang makikilala. Sa pamamagitan ni Kristong aming Panginoon. Amen.

Capampangan (Filipino)

Pangadi Bayu Tuglung King Internet:

O kipnuan king upaya at alan-anggang Dios, king anyu Mu lelang Mu kami at sinabi Mu kekami ing dulapan mi ya ing cayapan, ing catutuan, at ing caniwan, lalu’t lalu na ing tagle cabanalan na ning Bugtung Mung Anak, Y Jesucristong Guinu mi, itulut Mu, pagamu-amu mi Keka, king kapamilatan nang San Isidro, Obispo at Doctor, a sana king penandit ning pamaglayag mi king Internet iyungyung mi la ding mata at gamat mi bucud mung king bague munie ligaya Keka at pakibagayan mi la sana king mitmung lugud at kapakumbaban ding maldang caladwang kekaming akatalamitanan. Kapamilatan na ning Cristong Guinu mi.  Amen

Cebuano (Filipino)

Pag-ampo bag-o sa pagsulod sa Internet:

Diyos nga makagagahum ug walay katapusan, nga nag gama kanamo ingon sa Imong imahen, ug nagingon nga pangitaon ang tanan nga maayo, tinood ug maanindot, hilabi na sa sagrado nga persona sa imong Bugtong nga anak, nga among Ginoong Hesukristo, ihatag, nangaliyopo kami nga Imong tabangan, gumikan ni San Isidro, Obispo ug Magtutudlo nga sa among paglawig sa internet hinaut unta among giyahan ang among mga kamot ug mga mata ngadto lamang sa makapahalipay Kanimo, ug nga pinaagi unta sa kalooy ug gugma mahimamat namo ang tanan nga among makita didto. Kini among gipangayo gumikan ni Kristo nga among Ginoo.  Amen.

Visit Fr. Z’s Blog for more translations: Lingua Latina, Aramaic, Catalan, Chinese Mandarin, Croatian, Czech, Danish, German, Spanish, Esperanto, Finnish, French, Indonesian, Italian, Kinyambo, Kishwahili, Klingon, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Magyar, Malti, Morse Code, Neerlandisch, Norwegian, Polish, Portugese, Roman, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swedish, Tamil, Vietnamese, Welsh

Contact Fr. Z if you can offer a translation that’s not yet on the above list.

Image

You can go online for hours, a minute of prayer shouldn't be hard.

You can go online for hours, a minute of prayer shouldn’t be hard.

Blogging from A to Z | April Challenge Ultimate Blog Challenge

survivor-atoz [2014]

6 thoughts on “Z is for Fr. Z’s Internet Prayer

  1. Hey Maanne

    Congratulations on completing the A to Z Challenge! #HUGSSS

    I do need to pray more. 😦 I am sure it will give me a lot of peace of mind.

    Thank you for this powerful reminder, dear

    BEST wishes

    Kitto

    Like

  2. Congratulations on making it to the end of the challenge. One of the things I did this year is promise to spend more time in prayer and reading the Bible. We have so many important decisions to make in our lives, it’s impossible to proceed without God’s guidance.

    Thanks for visiting The Busy Mom’s Daily.

    Like

  3. Had no clue that there was a prayer for the internet. Interesting. I think people can make the internet good or bad, just as you said. For me, it’s all been positive. Through blogging I’m able to help the homeless in a much broader way then I possible could without it. See my blog titled Bridge and Beyond, the link and badge for it is on my travel blog which is the one I’m involved with the a-z challenge. Through social media and the internet I’m able to connect with old childhood friends, and then we’ve been able to get back together face to face……I consider that a real blessing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

