Birthday blues

Catsup doodle out of boredom while eating alone in a fast food

Catsup doodle out of boredom while eating alone in a fast food

It’s my birthday this Saturday and I have no plans for that day except for having my passport renewed in the morning. Last year I invited my colleagues at work for an out of town swimming, only one third came. It’s been magical! We got lots of dishes that seemed bottomless. I enjoyed my day a lot, but a part of me of course is sad for those who were not able to make it. I use it to my advantage when I need something from my mates and they can’t say no when I remind them that they blew off my invitation.

I feel blue on my silver year but in a different way. I don’t feel old neither do I feel worthless nor closer to death. I look younger than my age not only because I stand half my age, but because I avoid getting stressed by keeping myself calm even in pressing situations.

Movie date with college girlfriends five years ago.

Movie date with college girlfriends five years ago.

I have lots of good memories of my past birthdays. I just miss a lot of people let alone be with someone thousands of miles from where I am… even without talking, just walk and sit hand in hand.

A silhouette of him. Sunset at Sunken Cemetery of Camiguin Island Philippines.

A silhouette of him. Sunset at Sunken Cemetery of Camiguin Island Philippines.

I am most likely to spend my day with my family. If not on my birthday, we usually have a celebration for April babies on a summer family getaway.

Teaching my niece how to swim on my birthday last 2011.

Teaching my niece how to swim on my birthday last 2011.

I am so much blessed and I am very thankful. I had prayed for a lot of things and did not get any of it. I got lots of things that are so much better. Indeed He knows best.

Have any ideas what I can do on my birthday? I think I got one but I welcome other ideas 🙂

Blogging from A to Z | April Challenge

Ultimate Blog Challenge

8 thoughts on “Birthday blues

  1. Don’t feel bad. I’m getting close to 40 now and every year fewer people remember to tell me happy birthday, and the parties stopped years ago. But the truth is that over time, my ‘birth day’ means less to me. It’s more about how old you feel – not how old you are. And why not celebrate every day…

    Like

Leave a Reply

