Last afternoon with lola

I have something to tell you… I wrote a draft of this in my mind on March 27, 2014. Today is the last day that we’ll be seeing our lola as we bid her goodbye at Memorial Park Dasmariñas. She had lived 90 colourful years. I know it hasn’t been all easy for grandma. I have only lived one-third of her life and experienced a lot of happiness and pain. All my family and anyone who knows Lola Eleng would agree on that, yet she always looked at the brighter side of life that is apparent with her timeless smile.

Me and Lola Eleng on her 90th birthday last January.

Me and Lola Eleng on her 90th birthday last January.

Though her last days must have been very difficult, she fought and remained strong. And on her last breath, she did not give up nor tried to chase it. She peacefully let go and closed her eyes for eternal sleep. I took a lot of photos of her in casket and did not felt any fear.  My grandma was sleeping, peaceful and smiling. We know that she’s happy to walk into the light.

March 27, 2014

March 27, 2014

I feel like crying, but the weather this afternoon is as peaceful as my grandma. And today was a perfect day for a picnic. Here are some photos:

Wacky group picture after the interment of Lola Eleng

Wacky group picture after the interment of Lola Eleng

I asked Marian and Zeigh to do a jump shot with me but they don’t follow my count and they got tired before I got a perfect shot. Anyway they’re perfectly cute for me.

I asked Marian and Zeigh to do a jump shot but they got tired before I got a perfect shot. Anyway they’re perfectly cute for me.

Here’s a nice jump shot of Iyaz. He’s more willing to jump for me to take a photo of him. I got the idea of a jump shot at the park when he asked me to.

Here’s a nice jump shot of Iyaz. He’s more willing to jump for me. I got the idea of a jump shot when he asked me to take a photo of him.

 

Reymark and Oyong up the tree.

Reymark and Oyong up the tree.

A candid shot of my sister, Grace, and her boyfriend, Gilmoure. Prenup at Memorial Park, why not?!

A candid shot of my sister, Grace, and her boyfriend, Gilmoure. Prenup at Memorial Park, why not?!

A candid shot of my sister, Cheng, and Baby Chichay

A candid shot of my sister, Cheng, and Baby Chichay.

One thought on “Last afternoon with lola

Leave a Reply

